Download TrojanHunter Now
Free 30-day trial!
Latest TrojanHunter Version:
TrojanHunter 5.0
Order Now
License file delivered within minutes.
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Sep 30th, 2008, 6:49pm
   Mischel Internet Security Forum
   Malware
   Adware, Browser Hijackers and other Malware
(Moderators: Helena, Gavin_Coe, Magnus)
   Possible Adware False Positive
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies   Send Topic Send Topic   Print Print
   Author  Topic: Possible Adware False Positive  (Read 915 times)
Jamming
Stole All the Forum Stars
********




Remember when a Trojan was just for protection.

   


Gender: male
Posts: 2039
Possible Adware False Positive
« on: Nov 29th, 2004, 2:33pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Found trojan file: C:\Program Files\WordPerfect Office 11\Programs\CmMAPI32.dll (Adware.ActualNames.100)
1 trojan files found

 
File Version: 10.0.0.675
Description: CorelCENTRAL (TM)10 MAPI Stub
Copyright: Copyright (C) 2001 Corel Corporation Limited.  All Rights Reserved.
 
Size: 48.0 KB (49,152 bytes)
Created: Friday, March 07, 2003, 3:58:46 AM
IP Logged

Team Z Member

Servare cives, major est virtus patriae patri.
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca
I was born an American; I live an American; I shall die an American!
- Daniel Webster
Aaron
Administrator
*****





   


Gender: male
Posts: 286
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29th, 2004, 3:15pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Please send a copy of the file in for review.
IP Logged

Aaron Hulett | Trojan Analyst | Mischel Internet Security
MichaelJ
Newbie
*



I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

   


Gender: male
Posts: 38
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29th, 2004, 4:59pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

I've had the same file found with the same trojan for the last few days, wondering if anyone else was still using WordPerfect.  My WP is version 10, but the only differences in the file are:
File Version:  10.0.0.719
Created:  Thursday, August 15, 2002, 6:23:20AM.
 
I check daily for new update files, so am current.
 
Sorry if this should be a separate topic.
 
Please advise, this is my first trojan.
IP Logged
maxqnz
Newbie
*




Walekam salaam, noho ora mai!

   
WWW  

Posts: 26
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #3 on: Nov 29th, 2004, 5:03pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

on Nov 29th, 2004, 4:59pm, MichaelJ wrote:
I've had the same file found with the same trojan for the last few days, wondering if anyone else was still using WordPerfect.  My WP is version 10, but the only differences in the file are:
File Version:  10.0.0.719
Created:  Thursday, August 15, 2002, 6:23:20AM.
 
I check daily for new update files, so am current.
 
Sorry if this should be a separate topic.
 
Please advise, this is my first trojan.

 
I'm using WP12, and I get the same message. I have run full system scans with TH twice in the last 2 months without receiving this notice, depsite having had WP12 installed for nearly a year.  
IP Logged

ओ पालनहारे, तुमरे बिन हमरा कौनों नहीं
What's a pieriansipist?
Jamming
Stole All the Forum Stars
********




Remember when a Trojan was just for protection.

   


Gender: male
Posts: 2039
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #4 on: Nov 29th, 2004, 10:19pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Copy of File sent to submit@trojanhunter.com
on Monday, November 29, 2004 10:09 PM
IP Logged

Team Z Member

Servare cives, major est virtus patriae patri.
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca
I was born an American; I live an American; I shall die an American!
- Daniel Webster
Jamming
Stole All the Forum Stars
********




Remember when a Trojan was just for protection.

   


Gender: male
Posts: 2039
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #5 on: Nov 30th, 2004, 9:06pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Never heard anything back on this, seems to be effecting multiple people.
IP Logged

Team Z Member

Servare cives, major est virtus patriae patri.
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca
I was born an American; I live an American; I shall die an American!
- Daniel Webster
Aaron
Administrator
*****





   


Gender: male
Posts: 286
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #6 on: Nov 30th, 2004, 9:13pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Haven't forgotten.  It will be addressed very soon (my next update, which is slated to go out within a few hours).
IP Logged

Aaron Hulett | Trojan Analyst | Mischel Internet Security
Aaron
Administrator
*****





   


Gender: male
Posts: 286
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #7 on: Nov 30th, 2004, 10:09pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

The update is released.
IP Logged

Aaron Hulett | Trojan Analyst | Mischel Internet Security
maxqnz
Newbie
*




Walekam salaam, noho ora mai!

   
WWW  

Posts: 26
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #8 on: Nov 30th, 2004, 10:54pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

on Nov 30th, 2004, 10:09pm, Aaron wrote:
The update is released.

 
 
Fixed. Thanks!
IP Logged

ओ पालनहारे, तुमरे बिन हमरा कौनों नहीं
What's a pieriansipist?
MichaelJ
Newbie
*



I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

   


Gender: male
Posts: 38
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #9 on: Nov 30th, 2004, 11:20pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Clean scan!  Thank you!!
IP Logged
Jamming
Stole All the Forum Stars
********




Remember when a Trojan was just for protection.

   


Gender: male
Posts: 2039
Re: Possible Adware False Positive
« Reply #10 on: Dec 2nd, 2004, 6:30am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Ran without a problem after the update, Thanks!
 
Sorry to not respond after the first update as I got sidetracked by new Sid Meyer's Pirates! Officially it is like gamer crack, it draws you in and you forget about time and things like eating.
 Roll Eyes
« Last Edit: Dec 2nd, 2004, 6:30am by Jamming » IP Logged

Team Z Member

Servare cives, major est virtus patriae patri.
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca
I was born an American; I live an American; I shall die an American!
- Daniel Webster
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies   Send Topic Send Topic   Print Print

« Previous topic | Next topic »
Search
Members
Login
Register