Download TrojanHunter Now
Free 30-day trial!
Latest TrojanHunter Version:
TrojanHunter 5.0
Order Now
License file delivered within minutes.
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Nov 20th, 2008, 12:26pm
   Mischel Internet Security Forum
   Internet Security
   General
(Moderators: Helena, Gavin_Coe, Magnus)
   NBA.com is attacking my computer i think
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies   Send Topic Send Topic   Print Print
   Author  Topic: NBA.com is attacking my computer i think  (Read 906 times)
Endeavor
Newbie
*





   


Posts: 1
NBA.com is attacking my computer i think
« on: Mar 24th, 2005, 5:30pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Huh  i got norton internet security and they have a pop up in the corner near the system tray which says "norton security have blocked an attack on your computer".  When i check the IP, it's very very similar to nba.com's.  Then, today, i got another attack, and when I looked at the details, it says it's from "cache.nba.com(63.208.170.201)(http(80))".
 
All the attacks are using "MS_ANI_File_DoS" attacks.  Whatever that means...
 
The 1st attack had an IP of 69.44.123.137, and i think that is very very similar to one of nba.com's ips.
 
sorry, i don't know if this place is the correct place to be posting about this stuff. if anyone knows a better place, please tell me.
IP Logged
PAN_IRISH
Veteran
*****





   


Gender: male
Posts: 528
Re: NBA.com is attacking my computer i think
« Reply #1 on: Mar 24th, 2005, 11:32pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

on Mar 24th, 2005, 5:30pm, Endeavor wrote:
Huh  i got norton internet security and they have a pop up in the corner near the system tray which says "norton security have blocked an attack on your computer".  When i check the IP, it's very very similar to nba.com's.  Then, today, i got another attack, and when I looked at the details, it says it's from "cache.nba.com(63.208.170.201)(http(80))".
 
All the attacks are using "MS_ANI_File_DoS" attacks.  Whatever that means...
 
The 1st attack had an IP of 69.44.123.137, and i think that is very very similar to one of nba.com's ips.
 
sorry, i don't know if this place is the correct place to be posting about this stuff. if anyone knows a better place, please tell me.

 
 
the first place should be your internet service provider.
 
and the next thing is if you don't have an adequate firewall i recommend the free version from zone alarm ,you can get it here:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download388.html
 
you might try getting your pc scanned at this address:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/start_corp.asp
IP Logged

Keeping SECURITY the #1 issue! Use Trojan Hunter.
Don't leave home without it!
siliconman01
Global Moderator
*****



Trojans! Chew 'em Up, Spit 'em Out...

   


Gender: male
Posts: 5798
Re: NBA.com is attacking my computer i think
« Reply #2 on: Mar 24th, 2005, 11:47pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Go to the link below for a Symantec description of a MS_ANI_File_DOS attack.
 
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/attack_sigs/sigs/MS_ANI_Fi le_DoS.html
 
Note that if you are upgraded to XP-SP2 you are not vulnernable to this specific Denial of Service attack.
 
The IP addresses are two entirely different servers and there is really no indication that nba.com is involved.
 
63.208.170.201
 
OrgName:    Level 3 Communications, Inc.  
OrgID:      LVLT
Address:    1025 Eldorado Blvd.
City:       Broomfield
StateProv:  CO
PostalCode: 80021
Country:    US
 
NetRange:   63.208.0.0 - 63.215.255.255  
CIDR:       63.208.0.0/13  
NetName:    LEVEL4-CIDR
NetHandle:  NET-63-208-0-0-1
Parent:     NET-63-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.LEVEL3.NET
NameServer: NS2.LEVEL3.NET
Comment:    ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate:    1999-05-28
Updated:    2001-05-30
TechHandle: LC-ORG-ARIN
TechName:   level Communications  
TechPhone:  +1-877-453-8353
TechEmail:  ipaddressing@level3.com  
 
OrgAbuseHandle: APL8-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Abuse POC LVLT  
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-877-453-8353
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse@level3.com
 
OrgTechHandle: ARINC4-ARIN
OrgTechName:   ARIN Contact  
OrgTechPhone:  +1-800-436-8489
OrgTechEmail:  arin-contact@genuity.com
 
OrgTechHandle: TPL1-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Tech POC LVLT  
OrgTechPhone:  +1-877-453-8353
OrgTechEmail:  ipaddressing@level3.com
 
OrgName:    Akamai Customer Care  
OrgID:      ACC-221
Address:    8 Cambridge Center
City:       Cambridge
StateProv:  MA
PostalCode: 02142
Country:    US
 
NetRange:   63.208.170.192 - 63.208.170.255  
CIDR:       63.208.170.192/26  
NetName:    LVLT-ACC-221-63-208-170-192
NetHandle:  NET-63-208-170-192-1
Parent:     NET-63-208-0-0-1
NetType:    Reallocated
Comment:    
RegDate:    2005-01-31
Updated:    2005-01-31
 
OrgTechHandle: MM2768-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Michelle, Mersereau  
OrgTechPhone:  +1-888-421-1003
OrgTechEmail:  ccare@akamai.com
 
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-03-24 19:10
 
69.44.123.137
 
OrgName:    Williams Communications, Incorporated  
OrgID:      WLCO
Address:    One Williams Center
City:       Tulsa
StateProv:  OK
PostalCode: 74172
Country:    US
 
NetRange:   69.44.0.0 - 69.45.255.255  
CIDR:       69.44.0.0/15  
NetName:    WCG-BLK-4
NetHandle:  NET-69-44-0-0-1
Parent:     NET-69-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: STLDNS1.WCG.NET
NameServer: TULDNS1.WCG.NET
Comment:    TO REPORT ABUSE, PLEASE CONTACT: ABUSE@WCG.NET
RegDate:    2003-05-01
Updated:    2003-12-29
NOCHandle: NOC215-ARIN
NOCName:   Network Operations Center  
NOCPhone:  +1-800-934-8434
NOCEmail:  noc@wcg.net  
 
TechHandle: CS1473-ARIN
TechName:   Smith, Cindy  
TechPhone:  +1-314-595-6081
TechEmail:  cindy.k.smith@wiltel.com  
 
OrgTechHandle: CS1473-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Smith, Cindy  
OrgTechPhone:  +1-314-595-6081
OrgTechEmail:  cindy.k.smith@wiltel.com
 
OrgName:    Akamai Technologies, Inc.  
OrgID:      AKAMA-9
Address:    8 Cambridge Center
City:       Cambridge
StateProv:  MA
PostalCode: 02142
Country:    US
 
NetRange:   69.44.123.128 - 69.44.123.159  
CIDR:       69.44.123.128/27  
NetName:    WLCO-TWC02103692-AKAMAI-TECH-DALLAS
NetHandle:  NET-69-44-123-128-1
Parent:     NET-69-44-0-0-1
NetType:    Reassigned
Comment:    
RegDate:    2004-12-29
Updated:    2004-12-29
 
AbuseHandle: ABUSE767-ARIN
AbuseName:   Abuse Handler  
AbusePhone:  +1-617-444-3007
AbuseEmail:  abuse@akamai.com  
 
TechHandle: NOC1696-ARIN
TechName:   NOC  
TechPhone:  +1-617-444-3007
TechEmail:  noc@akamai.com  
 
OrgTechHandle: IPADM199-ARIN
OrgTechName:   IP Admin  
OrgTechPhone:  +1-617-444-3007
OrgTechEmail:  ip-admin@akamai.com
 
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-03-24 19:10
 
« Last Edit: Mar 24th, 2005, 11:57pm by siliconman01 » IP Logged

______
TrojanHunter V5.0.962...No. 1 AT in my Book and on my Box!
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies   Send Topic Send Topic   Print Print

« Previous topic | Next topic »
Search
Members
Login
Register